Six Decades of Craftsmanship

(484) 693-0530

colonialbindery@gmail.com 

18th Century Bookbindery from Diderot’s Encyclopedia

WORKSHOPS

2022

VIRTUAL WORKSHOPS- LEARN FROM THE COMFORT OF YOUR HOME. WE MAIL THE MATERIALS TO YOU.

 IN-PERSON WORKSHOPS HAVE RESUMED SUBJECT TO CORONAVIRUS PRECAUTIONS/RESTRICTIONS

See Page 4 for workshop descriptions.

To register for a workshop, click on the link, it will connect you with the venue so you can register.

2022

All Workshops are In-Person unless designated as Virtual.

January 2022:

Historic Sugartown – Introduction to Bookbinding (Sat. Jan. 8), Virtual Book Restoration (Sat. Jan. 15), Advanced Bookbinding (Sat. Jan. 22), Paper Marbling ( Sat. Jan. 29).

February 2022:

Historic Sugartown- Virtual Introduction to Bookbinding I (Sat. Feb. 5),  Gold Tooling (Sat. Feb. 12), Advanced Paper Marbling- Ebru (Sat. Feb. 19), Bookbinding Weekend (Feb. 26 – 27).

March  2022:

Historic Sugartown- Book Restoration (Sat. March 5), Virtual Introduction to Bookbinding (Sat. March 19), Advanced Book Restoration (Sat. March 26). 

Harriton House- Paper Marbling (Sat. March 12)

April 2022:

Historic Sugartown– Book Sewing (Sat. April 2), Advanced Bookbinding (Sat. April 9), Introduction to Bookbinding (Sat. April 16), Paper Marbling (Sat. April 23).

May 2022:

Historic Sugartown– Book Restoration (Tues. May 3).

Harriton House- Introduction to Bookbinding (Sat. May 14), Advanced Bookbinding (Sat. May 21).

June 2022:

Historic Sugartown- Virtual Introduction to Bookbinding (Sat. June 4), Advanced Book Restoration (Tues. June 7), Virtual Advanced Bookbinding (Sat. June 25).

Harriton House- Book Restoration (Sat. June 11).

July 2022:

Historic Sugartown- Bastille Day Marbling (Sat. July 9),  Virtual Book Restoration (Sat. July 16), Introduction to Bookbinding (Sat. July 23) 

August 2022:

Historic Sugartown- Gold Tooling (Sat. Aug. 13), Virtual Introduction to Bookbinding (Tues. Aug. 16).

September 2022:

Historic Sugartown- Book Restoration (Sat. Sept. 10); Bookbinding I and II Weekend (Sept. 17-18)Advanced Book Restoration ( Sat. Sept. 24).

October 2022:

Historic Sugartown- Introduction to Bookbinding (Sat. Oct. 1), Virtual Advanced Bookbinding (Sat. Oct. 8), Paper Marbling ( Sat. Oct. 22), Virtual Book Restoration (Sat. Oct. 29).

November 2022:

Historic Sugartown- Advanced Paper Marbling- Ebru (Sat. Nov. 5), Introduction to Bookbinding (Sat. Nov. 12).

December 2022:

Dec. 10: Sugartown Christmas

Historic Sugartown- Virtual Introduction to Bookbinding (Sat. Dec. 17).


BEFORE & AFTER

1631: “History of the Ottoman Empire”

Repaired and reinserted pages, rebuilt coverboards, onlayed and dyed fresh leather.


Examples of Completed Workshop Books

“Like Webster’s dictionary we’re Morocco bound.” – Crosby and Hope, The Road to Morocco

TESTIMONIALS

“I wanted to thank you for delivering an amazing workshop, but also to make this happen virtually to begin with! While I think it is even better in person, this is the next best thing, well done!”

SLG

“Ramon- The participants had a great time. Here are the things that people wrote on the surveys about what they enjoyed the most:

“Very friendly and helpful. Great program!; We all had a good time; Instructor’s knowledge of topic and we participated in the entire process.’

There were no responses for what they enjoyed the least, because they enjoyed everything, and you got a ‘perfect score’ on the other ratings. I look forward to working with you again in the future.”

Pottsgrove Manor

 “I just wanted to send you a note high on praise for your referral of Ramon Townsend. I contacted him with regards to two family heirlooms, books that were my great grandfather’s. The covers were completely off and the pages were no longer turnable. Ramon within a month had each book returned to me in working condition and fully restored. He is a highly trained craftsman who loves his work. Please make sure you refer him all the time.”

Lynn M.

BEFORE & AFTER

BEFORE
AFTER

“Thanks for presenting such a successful workshop!  Where else can a person participate in all phases of creating a book and get to take it home? It was a delightful learning experience and I and our docents will be better teachers for having “done it themselves”.

Don S.

“Thank you! The book is sturdy again, and so handsome. I plan on being in touch with you soon about some of my other books.”

Virginia E.

“I’m supposed to extend a huge thank you from my dad.  He’s amazed with the job and is very, very happy. “

Rob E.

“Ramon and Danielle, you helped to make our event a success!! Your display was awesome and our visitors loved you guys!! Looking forward to working with you again.”

Ellen C.

 “Thanks Ramon. My mother hasn’t put her diary down since you left. You made her very happy!”

Joe L.

 “I really enjoyed the class. I feel like I can make books on my own now.  I would love to do a marbling workshop with you. Thanks for the great day!”

Barbara R.

“Love my rebound books! Now looking for more that need some love.”

“I had a really enjoyable time yesterday – the site, the class, the people, having the experience of “piecework”, seeing the basics of bookbinding, and the enjoyable conversation afterwards.”

Doug H.

“I thoroughly enjoyed the bookbinding class last Saturday. Ramon is a great teacher and most knowledgable about his craft. His personality and patience shows and his love for his work is apparent. I hope to learn more from him.  I would like to know more about your upcoming programs and hope Ramon will be giving more seminars also. Keep up the good work.”

Barbara G.

We both thoroughly enjoyed the workshop and will keep an eye out for the paper marbling workshop. You are a very knowledgable teacher.”

Dee and Steve R.

” The class was a wonderful experience that far surpassed my expectations. I didn’t think we would come out of the class with this much knowledge. My book turned out great and I’m already coming up with ideas for the family history book I’m putting together.”

Ron L.

“My book turned out great, I love it and I loved the class. Might try to visit Sugartown soon. Hope to take the marbling class.”

Lisa S.

Evolution of a Bible Repair: Before, During & After Photos